I…I Have No Idea.

I don’t give a shit about Metallica.  Lets just get that out of the way.  I never made any conscious decisions to exclude them from this site but I never thought I would do anything interesting enough to warrant my attention.  Well, now they have.

If you hadn’t heard Metallica are collaborating with Lou Reed (of Velvet Underground as if you didn’t know) on an album.  Why one of the coolest guys in rock history would want to spend any time with a bunch of proto metal money grubbers is beyond me, but its happening anyway.  When I imagine what this music is going to sound like I hear Metal Machine Music with blast beats.  If you don’t get it, I am trying to say it sounds horrible.

Aaaaanyway, the reason I am even talking about this project is the fact that the album cover art has been released and it is psychotic.  That is it at the top.  The album is called Lulu and I will be seeing those dead, haunting eyes in my sleep tonight.

I have seen some shocking album covers in my life but this one is somehow worse than most.  Its not disturbing in an overt way.  There is no nudity, no guts, no double entendres but its upsetting nonetheless.  That, in my opinion, is the difference between art and something that is just there for shock value.  Also, it looks like someone used their finger to scrawl the album title in blood.  That is creepy as hell.

Leave a Reply

