Shabazz Palaces Live

I have already begged all of you to go out and listen to Shabazz Palaces.  I won’t beg anymore.  One thing I will do is give you the opportunity to see a live performance.  The difference between a Shabazz Palaces live show and most other hip hop shows is that a Shabazz Palaces show doesn’t suck.

As a general rule hip hop is terrible live.  Too often it just degenerates into a bunch of guys yelling.  All intricacies of the language tend to get lost.  Yeah, yeah there are always exceptions.  I’m sure that one time you saw that one guy was the “best show ever.”  You don’t have to agree with me.  But watch the video below and then compare it to this video of Drake, Lil Wayne, and Rick Ross performing “I’m On One,” a song I have already said that I like and currently number one on the Billboard Hot 100.

The album version is great but you can see how much time is spent in the studio making average artists sound good.  Listen to how flat and tuneless Drake’s voice is without auto tune and just try to resist the urge to fast forward through Ross screaming his verse (I know I couldn’t).  Its all the same performers, so why doesn’t the song translate from the studio to the live venue?

(via Gorilla vs. Bear)

Leave a Reply

