What’s Racist?

I am not one to post others’ blog entries but I found Roland Martin’s CNN commentary on offensive comedy thoughtful and intriguing. When is offensive comedy too offensive? (Personally, I find movies like “Furry Vengeance” and “Mr. Popper’s Penguins” more offensive than anything Lisa Lampanelli could ever say; mainly because they offend me by calling themselves comedies).

One of his points to consider: “I’ve had some long, running battles on Twitter, radio, TV and in person with African-Americans on the N-word. For me, I don’t like it and I don’t use it. On one hand, black folks will blow up when someone white uses the N-word. A lot of folks were offended when people who were not black used the N-word in “The Hangover II.” But if that was a movie with a predominantly black cast? Nothing.”

Check it out:

http://www.cnn.com/2011/OPINION/06/13/martin.comedy.morgan/index.html?hpt=op_r1

Ok, done being political … anticipate a posting on superhero movies very soon …

Leave a Reply

