Weezer – Paranoid Android

I’ll be the first to tell you that I am not a fan of Weezer.  I don’t hate Weezer like I do the Katy Perrys and Bonos of the world, I just don’t think they have made any above average music since their debut in 1994.  Ok “Hash Pipe,” from the Green Album was fun for like a minute, but that’s about it.

Many people from my generation have a huge soft spot in their hearts for Weezer.  “Buddy Holly,” “My Name is Jonas,” and “Say It Ain’t So” were part of the soundtrack to our adolescence and our developing adulthood.  I know that I will forever be a Third Eye Blind fan.  I know its not the kind of stuff I am supposed to like but I can’t help how pumped I get every time I hear “Graduate.”  My fiancee loves radio rap and she is a compete nut for Lady Gaga but she still loses her freaking mind every time she hears “Life A Highway,” Tom Cochrane’s harmonica tinged, country blues gem from the early 90’s.  We hold a special place for those songs that got us through those strange, awkward years.

Anyway, back to Weezer.  So, I don’t like anything they have done since the mid 90’s, that is until now.  For some reason they have done a cover of Radiohead’s “Paranoid Android” off of the classic Ok Computer.  I don’t know if its for a compilation, or a special single, or and upcoming album.  I have no idea.  It’s almost note for note.  They don’t really try to put their special spin on the song which makes it feel more like a fan tribute than a band trying to turn a cover into a hit.  There is something strange about hearing one of music’s most recognizable voices replaced with another instantly recognizable voice.  It’s almost like we teleported into a some parallel universe where Rivers Cuomo has been fronting Radiohead this whole time.  Check it out below.

Weezer – Paranoid Android

4 thoughts on “Weezer – Paranoid Android

  1. i totally just took a study break to jam out to life is a highway. thanks for the distraction 🙂 it’s really too bad rascal flatts had to remake and ruin the song with that twangy country voice bs. i don’t care if it was for a disney movie. still ruined it.

Leave a Reply

