Worst Album Art Ever?

Hey everyone, this is the album art for the new Arctic Monkeys album.  Impressed?  No of course not.  Because its terrible!  I don’t buy much physical music anymore (downloading mp3s is just too easy) but I still make the effort for my favorite artists and for classic albums.  For the albums that are important to me I like having the artwork that accompanies the music.  It makes it seem more special and personal.

Normally, Arctic Monkeys are one of those bands that I would pay a little extra to get a physical LP, but not this time.  Hell no!  I can’t walk into Homer’s and put this thing on the counter, not with a straight face anyway.  Even if this thing was a long lost Van Gogh, the name alone would negate any artistic merit it should have.  Let me channel my inner Seth Meyers.  “Suck It and See?  Really Arctic Monkeys?!?  Do you think your fans are all frat boys?  Are middle schoolers passing Arctic Monkeys vinyl back and forth in the locker room inbetween dick jokes?  Really?!?”

Now I absolutely appreciate dirty, foul mouthed, gross out humor.  That’s not the issue.  I’ve seen 40-Year Old Virgin about thirty times and I have both Lonely Island albums on constant repeat, but this isn’t even a joke.  Its not clever, its not charming, its just….obvious.  Why not just print “Blowjob” on the front?  That’s the only way it could be any more overt.

Its just embarrassing to see a group of smart and talented people (I’m looking at you too, James Ford) going this route.  I know this album is an attempt to get away from the heavy overdubs and streamlined sound of 2009’s Humbug, and that’s fine, but this is veering way off cheeky and a little naughty to borderline obnoxious.  I expect a little more effort from these guys.  I’m not saying I’m not going to listen to the music. What I have heard so far I have loved, but this is going to be the first time a record store won’t get my money for an official Arctic Monkey’s release.

Arctic Monkeys – Don’t Sit Down ‘Cause I Moved Your Chair

Arctic Monkeys – Brick By Brick

Leave a Reply

