Eagles of Death Metal

I grew up in the late 80’s and early 90’s but as a little kid I mostly listened to my father’s music:  Zeppelin, Cheap Trick, ZZ Top, The Rolling Stones, etc.  These were real rock n roll bands who just wanted to play loud and help you start your party.  That’s how “rock n’ roll” is supposed to be.  Keep your power ballads and just give me three and a half minutes bulldozer riffs.

Then I started college just as emo was moving into the mainstream.  I tried to like it, I really did but I am just not angsty enough.  Luckily, I discovered one of the few real rock bands left.

The Eagles of Death Metal saw me through those tough times.  Started by Josh Homme (Queens of the Stone Age, Them Crooked Vultures) on drums (though he doesn’t tour with the group because of commitments to Queens) and childhood friend Jesse “The Devil, Boots Electric, Fabulous Weapon” Hughes fronting  and playing lead guitar.  They play straight ahead, 70’s style rock and roll.  Hughes, he’s the one who looks like your creepy uncle, is one of my favorite guitarists and one of the few artists, nowadays, to inject his own sense of humor into his music.  Its just fun and sometimes that’s all I want.

They are currently at work on their fourth album but just to tide you over here is a selection from the first three.  More videos after the jump.

Leave a Reply

