Listen to This: Cults – Abducted

There is something to be said for how easy pop music is to digest.  There are times when I just don’t have the patience to throw on my headphones and dissect all the ins and outs of an Animal Collective track.  Sometimes I just need a three minute slice of pop goodness to get me through the next part of my day.

That is why bands like Cults exist.  The duo first popped up last year with their self-released, instantly infectious “Go Outside.”  A simple piece propelled by a walking baseline and multi-tracked girl group vocals.  Someday we will hopefully have a full length from this group, but to tide us over here is their latest “Abducted.”  Musically its not much of a departure from “Go Outside” and the follow up single “Oh My God”  but the subject matter seems be more mature.  “It tore me apart ’cause I really loved him!” sings Madeline Follin.  This is a step in the right direction for one of  indie-pop’s up and comers.

Leave a Reply

